Local Issues

2021 GENERAL ELECTION: ARPAC Supported City Council Candidates

October 8, 2021

Your fellow REALTORS® have worked hard to analyze races, review voting records, and interview candidates. Before you cast your ballot, please consider the candidates that your colleagues have identified as the most qualified to make important decisions that will impact the future of the real estate industry.

The Atlanta REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) supports local candidates in the metro Atlanta area who share our position on issues such as protecting property rights, promoting smart growth, creating affordable housing opportunities, and encouraging economic development -- regardless of partisan affiliation.

Candidate screening interviews took place throughout the month of September and early October. A joint candidate screening sub-committee interviewed candidates running in the City of Atlanta, Alpharetta, Brookhaven, Chamblee, Doraville, Dunwoody, Johns Creek, Roswell and Sandy Springs. Below is a list of the candidates selected by the sub-committee and approved by the ARPAC Board of Trustees..

Candidates are selected based on their responses to the interview questions, their electability, campaign organization, and where appropriate, their record of support/voting for REALTOR®  issues.

City of Atlanta

  • Mayor – Andre Dickens

  • Post One - At-Large - Michael Julian Bond (Incumbent)
  • Post Two – At-Large – Matt Westmoreland (Incumbent)
  • Post Three – At-Large – Jodi Merriday (Open Seat)

  • Council Seat 3 – Byron Amos (Open Seat)
  • Council Seat 4 – REALTOR® Kim Scott (Challenger)
  • Council Seat 5 – Samuel Bacote (Open Seat)
  • Council Seat 6 – Alex Wan (Open Seat)
  • Council Seat 9 – Dustin Hillis (Incumbent)
  • Council Seat 10 – Andrea Boone (Incumbent)
  • Council Seat 11 – Marci Overstreet (Incumbent)
  • Council Seat 12 - Joyce Sheperd (Incumbent)


  • Post One - REALTOR® Donna Murphy (Challenger)
  • Post Two - Brian Will (Open Seat)


  • District Two - John Park (Incumbent)
  • District Four - John Funny (Open Seat)


  • District One - John Mesa (Incumbent)
  • District Four - Elmer Veith (Open Seat)


  • City Council - REALTOR® Gerald Evans (Incumbent)


  • Post Three - Brian Sims

Johns Creek

  • Mayor - Brian Weaver (Open Seat)
  • Post One - Lee Heard Tucker (Open Seat)
  • Post Five - REALTOR® Larry DiBiase (Open Seat)


  • Post Five - REALTOR® Michael Dal Cerr (Open Seat)

Sandy Springs

  • Mayor - Rusty Paul (Incumbent)
  • District Two - Melody Kelley (Open Seat)
  • District Four - Tochie Blad (Challenger)
  • District Five - Tibby Dejulio (Incumbent)

More from news